Sean Perry Wins PokerGO Cup Finale, Jeremy Ausmus Overall Champ

Home » Sean Perry Wins PokerGO Cup Finale, Jeremy Ausmus Overall Champ

Sean Perry won the Event #8: $50,000 PokerGO Cup finale for $640,000 and was the only player to claim two series wins. However, Jeremy Ausmus, who finished third at the final table on Thursday, was crowned the overall series winner to become the 2022 PokerGO Cup champ.

Perry entered the final table with a massive chip lead following Wednesday’s Day 1 session at the PokerGO Studio in Las Vegas. The final session of the 32-entry no-limit hold’em tournament played out similarly to Day 1 with the same player dominating the game.

The champ also won Event #2 for $200,000 after winning six high rollers in 2021. Only Ali Imsirovic, who already has two high roller titles in 2022, won more with 14 victorioes.

PokerGO Cup Event #8 Final Results

1Sean Perry$640,000
2Brock Wilson$416,000
3Jeremy Ausmus$256,000
4Nick Schulman$176,000
5Daniel Negreanu$112,000

PokerGO Cup Crown Still in Doubt on Day 2

Entering the final table, there were still four players mathematically alive in the chase for the PokerGO Cup championship. But three of them — Perry, Brock Wilson, and Daniel Negreanu — didn’t control their own destiny. Ausmus, on the other hand, was in the driver’s seat well ahead of the competition in the standings at 504 points.

Negreanu, with 210 points, had to win and hope Ausmus was the first to bust at the final table. Instead, “DNegs” was the first to go and was eliminated in fifth place ($112,000), ending his run to repeat as PokerGO Cup champion.

Perry, at 232 points, could only win if Ausmus busted in fourth or worse and he won the tournament. Unfortunately, for the multiple event winner, Nick Schulman went out in fourth place ($176,000), ending Perry’s shot.

When Ausmus busted in third place ($256,000), Wilson had a chance to pull it out, but he’d have to overcome a 7:1 chip disadvantage when heads-up play began.

He had a shot to get back into the match when he jammed preflop with {k-Clubs}{q-Clubs} and ran into {j-Spades}{j-Clubs}. All he had to do was win a race and then he’d be one double-up away from the chip lead. With Ausmus anxiously watching nearby, the flop came out {8-Diamonds}{10-Hearts}{6-Spades}, maybe the most boring flop possible.

Perry then called Ausmus over to the table to “come celebrate with me” as they all waited to see the harmless {4-Hearts} on the turn. The {8-Clubs} hit the river and both Perry and Ausmus could celebrate for separate reasons.

Ausmus finished with 658 points, Perry was in second with 616, and Wilson took third with 570. PokerGO founder Cary Katz, who racked up 346 points, was a distant fourth place. With that, the 2022 PokerGO Cup officially came to an end.

2022 PokerGO Cup Final Point Standings

Jeremy Ausmus
2022 PokerGO Cup overall champ Jeremy Ausmus

1Jeremy AusmusUnited States658
2Sean PerryUnited States616
3Brock WilsonUnited States570
4Cary KatzUnited States346
5Ali ImsirovicBosnia & Herzegovina300
6Nick SchulmanUnited States299
7Daniel NegreanuCanada277
8Sean WinterUnited States269
9Bill KleinUnited States246
10Darren EliasUnited States234

Free to Play Slots

2022 PokerGO Cup Series Final Results

Feb. 2Event #1: $10,000 NLH77Daniel Colpoys$200,200
Feb. 3Event #2: $10,000 NLH80Sean Perry$200,000
Feb. 4Event #3: $10,000 NLH80Jake Daniels$200,000
Feb. 5Event #4: $15,000 NLH65Jeremy Ausmus$263,250
Feb. 6Event #5: $25,000 NLH41Nick Petrangelo$369,000
Feb. 7Event #6: $25,000 NLH35Daniel Negreanu$350,000
Feb. 8Event #7: $25,000 NLH43Ali Imsirovic$365,500
Feb. 9Event #8: $50,000 NLH32Sean Perry$640,000

*Images courtesy of PokerGO.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *